Authorization
Weaviate Cloud (WCD) uses RBAC (Role-Based Access Control) to manage authorization. Below, you can find guides on how to create, edit and delete user roles and manage their permissions.
Create a role
Section titled “Create a role”Custom roles allow you to define specific permissions for different users or applications accessing your Weaviate cluster. You can control access to collections, tenants, and specific operations.
Steps to create a new role
To create a new role, follow these steps:
- Open the Weaviate Cloud console.
- Select your cluster and navigate to the
Rolessection. - Click on the
New rolebutton. - Enter a descriptive name for your role in the
Role namefield. - In the sections below, configure the permissions:
- Select which resources the permission applies to (for example, to which collections the role has access to)
- Choose the appropriate permissions (create, read, update, etc.)
- Click the
Createbutton to save your new role.
Edit a role
Section titled “Edit a role”You can modify the permissions and settings of existing custom roles at any time.
Steps to edit a role
To edit a role, follow these steps:
- From the roles management page, locate the role you want to edit.
- Click the
Pencilbutton next to the role you want to modify. - In the role editing interface, you can:
- Update collection permissions by checking or unchecking the appropriate boxes for Create, Read, Update, and Delete operations
- Add or remove additional constraints from the role's scope using the dropdown menus (e.g. which collections the permissions apply to)
- After making your changes, click the
Updatebutton to save the modifications. - Changes to role permissions take effect immediately for all API keys assigned to that role.
Delete a role
Section titled “Delete a role”When you no longer need a custom role, you can delete it. This action will affect all API keys currently assigned to this role.
Steps to delete a role
To delete a role, follow these steps:
- From the roles management page, locate the role you want to delete.
- Click the
Trash canbutton next to the role you want to remove. - In the confirmation dialog, type the exact role name to confirm the deletion. This prevents accidental deletions.
- Click
Confirm and deleteto permanently remove the role.
Deleting a role is permanent and cannot be undone. This action will:
- Remove the role and all its associated permissions
- Affect any API keys that were assigned to this role
- Potentially break applications that rely on the permissions granted by this role
Make sure to update or reassign any affected API keys before deleting a role.
Further resources
Section titled “Further resources”Support
Section titled “Support”If you use Weaviate Cloud (Database cluster(s) or Weaviate product in the cloud) or have a self-hosted support package, open a ticket in the Support Portal or email Weaviate support directly. To add a support plan, contact Weaviate sales.
Use the Support Portal for direct help from the Weaviate team: open and track tickets, and we'll respond in line with your support plan. The Community Forum is open to everyone, and a great place to ask questions, get help with your cluster, and connect with other developers. For all the ways to get help, see the Support overview.